Day 307

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

Your memory hasn’t haunted me

in a very long time.

 

You used to be ever present:

all my thoughts once had a path that led back to you,

always.

 

It has been days since I craved

the heat of your touch;

months since I longed to see

the curve of your smile.

 

Now, it has almost been a year since my eyes last connected with yours.

How uplifting it is, I think, to see you slowly fade from me.

It floods me:

the realization that my hands are free

from being bound to your existence.

 

All that gratifies me now is the comfort of the idea that

I am left with nothing but your memory,

to be antagonized

(or romanticized)

of my own free will.

 

It is nothing if not liberating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

